Drug charges can lead to harsh penalties affecting all areas of your life. As a student, you may not think a possession charge is a big deal, but it is a serious offense in Wisconsin.
Understanding the laws, rules and regulations in your state is vital. Knowing your rights and possible defense options helps protect you from the long-term consequences of a drug conviction.
Know what is legal in your state
It is a crime in Wisconsin to have controlled substances unless you have a valid prescription. If law enforcement arrests you for possession of marijuana, you can face a jail sentence of six months and a fine of up to $1,000 for a first offense. Possession of a Schedule I drug is a felony charge with severe penalties. You can face up to three and a half years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
It is against Wisconsin law to possess any item that has an intended use for inhaling, ingesting, storing, planting, growing or producing a controlled substance. You can face charges for having paraphernalia alone, without the presence of any drugs. If convicted of this crime, a judge can sentence you to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Understand the potential consequences
Drug charges in Wisconsin carry harsh penalties. If convicted of a drug crime while attending college, it can affect your financial aid, student housing options, ability to pursue some careers, and acceptance at your school.
It is crucial to thoroughly understand your legal rights to present your defense and protect yourself from a sentence that can have a lifetime impact.