A drug possession charge can be scary, especially if it is your first time being in trouble with law enforcement. Many people arrested for possession are only carrying a small amount of a substance, but this can still lead to harsh consequences. As with all first-time arrests, knowing what to expect can help alleviate some of your worries about the ramifications and what they mean for your future.
Here are some of the things that you can expect from a controlled substance possession charge in Wisconsin.
In Wisconsin, there is a predetermined fine for possession of most controlled substances. These amounts generally differ depending on whether it is a first-time charge or a subsequent charge. For example, for LSD, a first offense carries a fine of up to $5,000, and any subsequent offenses carry a fine of up to $10,000. These differences in amounts are due to the fact that first offenses are usually misdemeanors while second offenses and beyond are felonies.
Time in jail
In addition to fines, a drug possession charge may also carry jail time. For many controlled substances, the state sets jail time at up to one year for the first offense and three and a half years for all offenses after that initial charge.
If law enforcement finds you guilty of drug possession, you may also face having your driver’s license revoked for a period of time.
If you face a drug possession charge in Wisconsin, knowing what to expect enables you to make the best decision possible regarding things such as pleas.