Many things can have impacts on what life is like for a person here in Wisconsin after an OWI conviction. One is what sorts of restrictions are placed on them as a result of their conviction. One common restriction put on individuals convicted of OWI in the state is an ignition interlock device requirement. Under state law, repeat OWI offenders and certain first-time OWI offenders have to have such a device installed in their vehicle.
Out-of-state students attending Wisconsin colleges may not know that a charge of "driving under the influence" (DUI) is referred to in the Badger State as "operating while intoxicated" (OWI). No matter the acronym, it is a serious offense.
There are a variety of penalties that generally go along with an OWI conviction. One is a fine. Even a first-offense conviction of OWI carries a monetary penalty. Under Wisconsin law, a monetary penalty of $150 to $300 is to be given to first-time OWI offenders.
Here in Wisconsin, penalties for OWI offenses are pegged to how many past offenses a person has. Among the things this results in is Wisconsin law treating first-time OWI offenses differently than repeat offenses in several different respects.
At this time of the year, many young people are living at home and working, counting down the days until the start of the fall semester. Understandably bored with this monotony, those 21 and older may decide to head to local bars to have some fun with friends.